Once your app has been approved and published in the App Center, the real fun begins: listening to your users and making your app even better! We encourage you to submit periodic updates to your app with bugfixes, new features, and general improvements.

How Weebly Reviews Updates

Updates to approved apps will have the review team’s priority, and should be approved in only a few days. ​You can have only one active or in-review version at a time (you can have as many draft versions as you want).

Versioning

When you upload a new zip, you can elect to version your app. To do this, change the version number in the manifest, and that will then be reflected on the app’s admin page. Note that the version number is displayed to your customers, so once you release an app to the App Center, you should definitely increment any future versions. We require semantic versioning. See the lifecycle flowchart for more info.

​If needed, you can add more scopes to your app on an update. Scopes determine the APIs and information that your app has access to. If you add more scopes on an update, when the user goes to use your app after the update is installed, they will need to re-grant permissions for those additional scopes.

Granting new permissions for an updated app

If your app includes webhooks, any webhook subscriptions previously configured in the manifest will be deleted and replaced with subscriptions defined in the new version. Subscriptions managed by the API will be copied over to the new version.

If your app has settings (configured either in a Weebly modal or at an external site), the site owners settings are merged with the settings in the manifest. If you’ve added settings, the defaults will be used until the customer changes them.

App updates are not automatically deployed to users’ published sites. Apps will be updated to the newest version when the site editor is loaded (as shown in the image below), but the site must be published to upgrade the elements and snippets on the live site.

For this reason, you should not deprecate old server-side functionality that older versions may use until there is sufficient user adoption of newer versions.

Updated apps displayed on publish of the site

As a developer, you can install multiple versions of your app onto your development site (and only your development site). When you reinstall your app, any previously installed versions will not be overwritten - you will have multiple versions installed to your test site. If you don’t wish to have multiple versions, be sure to delete your previous version from the My Apps page of the Settings tab in the editor before installing a newer version.

If your app contains a snippet, then you likely don’t want both versions. To avoid any conflicts between versions and to ensure that the most current version is installed:

  • Delete the snippet from the site
  • Publish the site
  • Install the new version
  • Publish the site again

Note that this is not the case for your customers. When you release a new version of your app, any customer that has it installed will automatically receive the new version and will have the older version uninstalled for them.

Creating Release Notes

When you create an updated version of your app, you need to create release notes that tell the user what has changed. You add release notes to the App’s Detail page when you upload your new version.

You create release notes on the details page for the app's new version

A link to release notes are displayed in the update modal in the editor.


Help make these docs better!