​What Happens to Opton, Color, and Font Settings When a Theme is Updated?

Theme options are set at the site level. All settings are retained after an update. However, if you make a change to an existing option, then the that option is set to the default after an update.

Will Option Settings on One Site Affect Another?

Theme options allow site owners to personalize some aspect of the theme. These settings live in the manifest for that site and that site only, so these settings will never affect how the theme displays on another site. The same holds true for color palette and variation settings and any changes made to fonts from the Theme tab of the editor.

Will Color Variations or Palette Settings on One Site Affect Another?

Color palette and variation settings allow site owners to change colors used in the theme. These settings live in the manifest for that site and that site only, so these settings will never affect how the theme displays on another site. The same holds true for option settings and any changes made to fonts from the Theme tab of the editor.

What Happens if a User Edits a Theme?

As long as a user has to the Theme tab, then they can edit the theme’s files. However, as soon as a user tries to save those changes, the theme is forked and they are forced to save the theme with a new name, and the site will now use that new theme. No other site will be affected by their changes.


Help make these docs better!